Books Everyone Should Read

Collection by HarperCollins Children's • Last updated 22 hours ago

409 
Pins
 • 
7.26k 
Followers

How to build a collection of treasured favorites and modern classics for the young readers in your life!

HarperCollins Children's
👑I can’t believe the Princess Diaries stories are 20 years old! I loved watching the movies so I was super excited to discover the books and these newly designed covers are gorgeous!  📸 @bookloverchristie

NEW COVERS

👑I can’t believe the Princess Diaries stories are 20 years old! I loved watching the movies so I was super excited to discover the books and these newly designed covers are gorgeous! 📸 @bookloverchristie

The Couch Potato follows a technology loving potato who enjoys sitting on the couch at home, watching the many screens around him. But when the electricity goes out, he ventures out into the world and learns some important lessons about balancing screen time with playtime.  📸 @babiestobookworms

HarperKids (@harperkids) • Instagram photos and videos

The Couch Potato follows a technology loving potato who enjoys sitting on the couch at home, watching the many screens around him. But when the electricity goes out, he ventures out into the world and learns some important lessons about balancing screen time with playtime. 📸 @babiestobookworms

Feeling fried? Peel yourself on the couch and meet your new pal-tato! The winning fourth picture book from the #1 New York Times bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, The Good Egg, and The Cool Bean, Jory John and Pete Oswald, will get you and your kids moving! 📸 @childrenslitlove

Hang out with your pal-tato, The Couch Potato!

Feeling fried? Peel yourself on the couch and meet your new pal-tato! The winning fourth picture book from the #1 New York Times bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, The Good Egg, and The Cool Bean, Jory John and Pete Oswald, will get you and your kids moving! 📸 @childrenslitlove

The one and only Mia Thermopolis is back and ready to reign! Celebrate the 20th anniversary of Meg Cabot’s blockbuster series in royal style—with all-new middle grade editions of the first three books! 📸 @anovelkingdom

NEW Princess Diaries covers!

The one and only Mia Thermopolis is back and ready to reign! Celebrate the 20th anniversary of Meg Cabot’s blockbuster series in royal style—with all-new middle grade editions of the first three books! 📸 @anovelkingdom

The same story you love, now with a new cover.  📸 @amandaseghetti Beverly Cleary, Book Collection, Book Recommendations, Reading, Cover, Books, Livros, Libros, Word Reading

Beezus and Ramona for a New Generation

The same story you love, now with a new cover. 📸 @amandaseghetti

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.  📸 @workreadsleeprepeat Books For Tweens, The Middle, Jasmine, Middle School, The Row, Words, Teaching High Schools, Plant Bed, Secondary School

Other Words for Home

New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything…

A strong choice for independent reading, both for summer reading and homeschooling, as well as in the classroom, Jacob Have I Loved has been lauded as a cornerstone young adult novel and was ranked among the all-time best children's novels in a survey published by School Library Journal.  📸 @shaelyncherie Independent Girls, Independent Reading, National Book Store, Katherine Paterson, Books For Tweens, Newbery Medal, Sibling Rivalry, Twin Sisters, Coming Of Age

Newbery Medalist

A strong choice for independent reading, both for summer reading and homeschooling, as well as in the classroom, Jacob Have I Loved has been lauded as a cornerstone young adult novel and was ranked among the all-time best children's novels in a survey published by School Library Journal. 📸 @shaelyncherie

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.   📸 @jessreadit National Book Store, King Author, Books For Tweens, Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King, Between Two Worlds, Wedding With Kids, Second World, New Kids

Newbery Medal Winner

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. 📸 @jessreadit

📸 @averyandaugustine

We Love Ramona Quimby!

Four beloved Ramona books in one fun box! The appeal of Beverly Cleary’s stories about the wonderful, blunderful Ramona Quimby has never faded. Each new generation feels connected to Ramona’s unique way of looking at the world as she tries to adjust to new teachers, feels jealous about Susan's curls, and is secretly pleased by Yard Ape's teasing. The scrapes she gets herself into—like wearing pajamas to school or accidentally making egg yolk shampoo—are funny and heartwarming, and sometimes…

Whether a long-time fan of Beverly Cleary or a newcomer to her award-winning books for children, this eight-book box set of the complete Ramona Quimby series will be a perfect addition to any bookshelf.  📸 @bolenbooks

More Ramona for all!

Whether a long-time fan of Beverly Cleary or a newcomer to her award-winning books for children, this eight-book box set of the complete Ramona Quimby series will be a perfect addition to any bookshelf. Kids everywhere feel connected to Ramona's unique way of looking at the world as she tries to adjust to new teachers, encounters bullies at school, and puts up with her bossy older sister. The scrapes she gets herself into—like wearing pajamas to school or accidentally making egg yolk…

Not only does Robinson write a funny and entertaining children's novel, she manages to critique everything from the education system to religion to gender stereotypes. It's an incredibly progressive book for being published in 1972; so many of the lessons and critiques hold up in today's society.  📸 @onthe.bl Best Christmas Pageant Ever, A Christmas Story, Christmas Fun, National Book Store, Books For Tweens, Books Everyone Should Read, Gender Stereotypes, Three Wise Men, Bad Kids

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever

Not only does Robinson write a funny and entertaining children's novel, she manages to critique everything from the education system to religion to gender stereotypes. It's an incredibly progressive book for being published in 1972; so many of the lessons and critiques hold up in today's society. 📸 @onthe.bl

The dynamic duo who created THE BAD SEED, THE GOOD EGG, and THE COOL BEAN are back with a new book that encourages kids to get off the couch and into the world! 📸 @librarymombooks The Bad Seed, Books Everyone Should Read, New Books, Seeds, Couch, Good Things, Education, Cool Stuff, Sofas

The Couch Potato by Jory John and Pete Oswald

The dynamic duo who created THE BAD SEED, THE GOOD EGG, and THE COOL BEAN are back with a new book that encourages kids to get off the couch and into the world! 📸 @librarymombooks

This lovely volume also includes seven pages of rarely seen bonus material, including archival photographs, sketches, pages from the original book dummy, the manuscript of the first story “Spring” (written in Lobel’s cursive on lined notebook paper!), plus a biography of Arnold Lobel and how he was inspired to write the Frog and Toad stories. 📸 @thecuriousreader

50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition

This beautiful commemorative picture book edition of the Caldecott Honor title Frog and Toad Are Friends is the perfect way to celebrate Frog and Toad’s 50th anniversary! This handsome edition features matte paper, remastered artwork, and a green ribbon book marker. It makes a lovely gift for collectors, fans of children’s literature, and anyone and everyone who loves Frog and Toad! First published in 1970, Frog and Toad Are Friends was the first of the four beloved Frog and Toad books. This…

This book right here is everything right now! Sometimes People March is just what I needed to help show my son how people have marched for change and resisted to demand change throughout history. I really love that #TessaAllen included a description of the movements, marches, and key figures in her book. This is one you'll want to revisit time and time again. 📸 @readlikearockstar Tessa Allen, Books Everyone Should Read, Why People, Watercolor Illustration, Right Now, Nonfiction, Everything, This Book, March

Sometimes People March

This book right here is everything right now! Sometimes People March is just what I needed to help show my son how people have marched for change and resisted to demand change throughout history. I really love that #TessaAllen included a description of the movements, marches, and key figures in her book. This is one you'll want to revisit time and time again. 📸 @readlikearockstar

I’m so happy to see the beloved Ramona series is back and better than ever, with all-new reimagined covers to capture the hearts of a new generation of Beverly Cleary lovers. Grab the first 4 books in Volume 1 of The Ramona Collection now, and jump into some rambunctious adventures with your kids and your favorite characters from Klickitat Street.  📸 @raisingwhasians Ramona The Pest, Ramona Books, Ramona Quimby, Beverly Cleary, Books For Tweens, Books Everyone Should Read, The Beverly, Early Literacy, New Teachers

Ramona Quimby by Beverly Cleary

I’m so happy to see the beloved Ramona series is back and better than ever, with all-new reimagined covers to capture the hearts of a new generation of Beverly Cleary lovers. Grab the first 4 books in Volume 1 of The Ramona Collection now, and jump into some rambunctious adventures with your kids and your favorite characters from Klickitat Street. 📸 @raisingwhasians

Just a kid from Akron, Ohio, who is dedicated to uplifting youth everywhere, LeBron James knows the key to a better future is to excel in school, do your best, and keep your family close. I Promise is a lively and inspiring picture book that reminds us that tomorrow’s success starts with the promises we make to ourselves and our community today.  📸 @helpingkidsrise

By NBA Champion LeBron James!

Just a kid from Akron, Ohio, who is dedicated to uplifting youth everywhere, LeBron James knows the key to a better future is to excel in school, do your best, and keep your family close. I Promise is a lively and inspiring picture book that reminds us that tomorrow’s success starts with the promises we make to ourselves and our community today. 📸 @helpingkidsrise